Starting over

Hey there! Just call me little i.

i’ve been kicking around the idea of starting this blog for a while, but just couldn’t find the right name. That’s very important, you know!

i am already a blogger, and have been for almost two years now. The blog identity i haphazardly created for myself with little to no thought just didn’t fit for very long. i wanted to change the name of my blog to something more fitting. But try as i might, i just couldn’t come up with a single blessed thing.

And then i read a post called little i by Marybeth Whalen, and suddenly it was clear. Her actual post is below:

“The other night my husband and i were at an event where the words to the worship music were placed on a screen for all to see, as no doubt you have all seen done. But this night i noticed something: every time they used the word “I” on the screen, it wasn’t capitalized. My editor’s eye was drawn to this glaring error, and i spent much of the time that i was supposed to be singing trying to discern why they had done this. Oversight? Trying to be cute? It bugged me.

Then i felt God’s whisper to my heart, causing me to go a bit deeper. “Why do you capitalize the i?” He asked me. “Who started that? Why? Is it because you all think that the almighty i is so important it needs to be capitalized? Maybe these folks recognize that “i” am not important– but I AM is.”

While I am not proposing a little i revolution– shaking up tradition and causing a crisis in the grammar world–i am wondering, what does a little i life look like?
Sacrifice?
Surrender?
Slaying self?
Setting apart?
Seeking Him?
Serving others instead of doing what i want?

This little i thing could catch on. It should catch on, because it’s the life Jesus called us to. We don’t need to be capitalized. We need to be small, insignificant– just a jot and a tittle, the littlest marks in the alphabet. Instead of a capital letter that announces our importance. At least, that’s what i am learning these days– and trying to live out. Sacrifice, surrender and servanthood are hard. But i know that’s what God calls us to do, laying down our wants, needs and desires and straining towards His.”

little i.

i have always struggled with selfishness. My original blogging plan was to blog as a ministry. i wanted to write devotions, mini bible studies, and anything else i could to glorify God. But somehow it still all became about me.

My other blog had progressed, and regressed and progressed again into a daily battle to increase my visitor counts more than the day before. It became about subscribers, comments, and people knowing who “I” was. It wasn’t about God at all. When i came to that realization, it nearly broke my little Southern heart!

These days, i am very intentional about what i write. Well, i will be, when this blog is in full swing. This go-round you will not know my true identity. i will use fake names for my family and do everything i can to keep the focus off of me, and where it truly belongs: on Him, my Heavenly Father, the I AM, who is more than i can begin to describe or explain.

My hope, new friends, is that as you spend time with me on this blog, you will begin to discover Him for yourself.

Welcome to my little i life….

3 Responses to Starting over

  1. Well, nice to meet you (in case we haven’t already “met”). ;)

    I know this is not what your blog is about, but I wanted you to know that I’m going to subscribe and see where this blog takes you (and me). Very good concept for a blog and I can see where it would be extremely beneficial. Even with that said, please know I don’t do a whole lot of commenting. I, too, have struggled with blogging and am trying to be more present in the lives of my children instead of more present in the lives of my bloggy friends. I’m sure you’ll understand… :)

    Have a great weekend!

  2. Keri says:

    I found you on All Access…….Yikes!!! This initial posting on your new undercover blog really bit me on the hiney!! God must be speaking to this sista today between the All Access post and this one!

    The search for notoriety – the longing for it really. It can slip in there when you’re least expecting it……do I notice blog counts, number of comments, etc? You betcha….wish I didn’t, but I do.

    Thank you for this. My goal at the beginning of the year was to lead a “Pure” life and that includes my intention and motivation for how I spend my time. I think some re-evaluating is in order here.

    Thank you for this……

  3. Bonita says:

    Marybeth’s post is awesome and so is your idea for this blog. Love it! He becomes greater as we become less. How cool to lift Jesus up and point others to Him while remaining completely anonymous. He gets all the glory, as it should be.

Leave a Reply

