Grace, Grace, Grace

If you’ll remember from a previous post, we have had all sorts of germs running rampant in our house recently. We thought they had mostly run their course, and the boys, though easily tired, were ready to go back to school.

So they did.

Until 11am on their first day back when my husband got a call from The King’s teacher. To tell us that he had a fever and his cough was bad, and that we should pick him up.

My Man’s schedule was more flexible than mine, so he went to the school. When he got there, The King was playing on the playground. You know – the sick kid, with a fever? PLAYING.ON.THE.PLAYGROUND. While it’s windy and in the low 40’s outside.

i could feel the heat rising in my face as My Man told me the story. What kind of teacher is this who thinks a child is sick enough to be removed from her classroom, yet well enough to go play outside with his friends? It just didn’t make sense to me. The more i thought about it, the angrier I got.

Then that little voice started saying, “Grace, grace, grace,” just like that darlin’ Lysa TerKeurst does. Reminding me that my sweet Jesus gives me grace every day, and asks me to give the same.

Most days, i think he drops it on me by the Heavenly Bucketful. :-)

Which means i should at least be able to dish out at least a cup or two of it, right?

So, i may not understand the thought processes that made The King’s teacher make the choices that she did, but i have to give her grace to make mistakes, because God knows i mess up all the time.

Well, let’s hear it. Do you need to give someone “grace, grace, grace” today?

2 Responses to Grace, Grace, Grace

  1. melodyofamom says:

    I appreciate this post…I have the same habit of jumping to judgement or anger when people do stupid things. God is always right there telling me to just let it go! I have never really thought of it as “giving a person grace” but I guess you’re right…it is!

  2. Thank you for your comment on my recent Laced with Grace devo. I love the idea of “Grace, Grace, Grace.”

Leave a Reply

